White Chicken Chili

Even though it’s 90 degrees outside, my husband and I were having the mutual craving of some delicious, warm chili this week. So I’m going to pass along my favorite chili recipe to satisfying your chili craving.

Of course, we had to make a chili that was healthy so I got this White Chicken Chili recipe from my sweet Momma and it is SO yummy.

I’m not sure where she got this recipe, but I looked up some WCC recipes on Pinterest and this I found this one that is really similar: http://www.cookingclassy.com/white-chicken-chili/

Anyways, here’s the recipe! Super easy and really yummy. And since I hate making a new recipe without having pictures to show me what it is supposed to look like in the end, I took some pictures to document my cooking journey. *Keep in mind- I am not a photographer by any means so I apologize for my unprofessional pictures that were taken by my wonderful iPhone. 🙂

Momma’s White Chicken Chili
Serves:6
Total Time: Around an hour
(it took me about 1 1/2 hours because I’m slow)

1 Tbs olive oil
1 1/2 lb raw chicken, cubed (I cut mine into 1/2 in cubes as we like it smaller)
1 small yellow onion, diced (I used a medium one and it turned out great!)
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 cans of low sodium chicken broth
1 can of green chilies (4 oz)
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp cumin
3/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
Salt & Pepper to taste
1 8 oz light cream cheese
1 can of corn (or 1 1/4 C if you use fresh or frozen corn)
2 cans of cannellini beans
1 Tbs lime juice (I used one half of a fresh lime)

Optional 
1 tsp cilantro
A little shreddedcheese (We used mozzarella & colby jack, but whatever kind you like will work)
Food Should Taste Good chips

First, cube the chicken, dice the onion, and mince the garlic.

img_0483img_0482img_0484

Put the olive oil, chicken, and onion into a big pot and saute it all for 6-10 minutes until the chicken isn’t pink anymore. The last minute or so, add in the garlic and saute for another minute or so. (Don’t worry about it being completely cooked yet as it will keep cooking during the whole process.)

Next, add the chicken broth, green chilies, coriander, oregano, cumin, paprika, cayenne pepper, and salt & pepper. Bring it all to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer for 15 minutes.

Cut up the cream cheese into smaller portions and add it to the pot. Stir the mixture until the cream cheese melts. It’s okay if there are still little chunks after it melts down, it will continue melting until it mixes in entirely while you continue to cook.

Then, add the corn and 1 can + 1/4 of the second can of bean. Process the remaining 3/4 can of beans with 1/4 cup of broth from the mixture. Add processed beans to mixture and everything simmer for 15 minutes.

When it’s done simmering, add it the lime juice!

After you put the chili into bowls, you can top it off with some cheese and cilantro! We didn’t have cilantro so we just put a little sprinkle of cheese on top and it was just as delicious. If you need some more carbs, you can grab some Food Should Taste Good chips and crumble them up and add them on top of the chili or put them on the side to dip into the chili!

But with or without the chips, it’s super yummy either way. You definitely can’t go wrong with this recipe.

Enjoy!

Love,
K

Leave a Reply

